We interrupt our regularly scheduled cry fest to bring you these news:

Last weekend I ran away from home. And it was marvelous.

Last Sunday I was having a bad day (following by a few more bad days). My friend, The One Who Calls Me Balls Balls, had a brilliant idea, while calming me down, that we should take a trip up north for the weekend. At first I was a bit hesitant – felt guilty leaving so soon after my mother died and all – but I haven’t had a weekend literally since May or June.

So I tweeted about finding a cute B&B up north, and got a lot of great responses from my Twitter friends. The One Who Calls Me Balls Balls and I originally met on Twitter, and met in person a few months later at a Mashable get together. So when another Twitter friend invited us to stop by her house on the way up – of course we said yes.

Mini Tweet Up

Mini Tweet Up

Our friend told us that that blue stuff in the background is called a sky.

After stopping at a strip mall to buy some food and a couple really funny old fashioned porceline pots (she named hers Gertrude and I named mine Bernice), we were going to go hiking in a river on the way, but it was raining most of the day, so we just went straight up north and had linner (lunch-dinner) at an amazing fish restaurant. My friend took a lot of pics, but I will share just one:

Duck

Duck

So thing thing about the B&Bs up north is that they’re all made for couples – which we are not (even though the owner totally thought we were!) The place was gorgeous – so much green (apparently it’s called grass) and a great country smell (apparently cow dung) – and the corniest cabin you’ve ever seen, but it was great. So quiet.

We decided to go horseback riding, which I haven’t done since I left Texas. It was so great, though it took a while to get used to, especially since they “drive” them differently than I was used to. Check out how gorgeous the area was:

Flowers and horses

Flowers and horses

I was behind my friend and she took a picture when I wasn’t looking. I love it. How cool is this picture?

Once a cowgirl, always a cowgirl

Once a cowgirl, always a cowgirl

We also ended up hiking. To save space, I will only post two of the pictures, but my friend took many more:

Waterfalls

Waterfalls

White water

White water

And that’s it. A wonderful weekend getaway, about 5 minutes long, but oh-so-needed. And heavenly.

Heaven on earth

Heaven on earth

